Trails to the Past


Grundy County




Trails to the Past of Iowa is accepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me  Marie Miller the Iowa State Administrator.

Grundy County was formed on January 15, 1851, and became self-governing in 1856. It was named after Felix Grundy of Tennessee, a statesman, Senator, member of the House of Representatives and Attorney General under President James K. Polk.

The first courthouse was built in 1861. The wooden, two-story building contained a courtroom, but was used for other purposes, including housing the office of the sheriff, county treasurer, the judge, as well as a chamber for the jury. The cornerstone for a second courthouse was laid on November 11, 1891.

On Line Data


    Grundy Center

    Beaver Township
    Black Hawk Township
    Clay Township
    Colfax Township
    Fairfield Township
    Felix Township
    German Township
    Grant Township
    Lincoln Township
    Melrose Township
    Palermo Township
    Pleasant Valley Township
    Shiloh Township
    Washington Township

Grundy County Court House

Adjacent counties
    Butler County (north)
    Black Hawk County (east)
    Tama County (southeast)
    Marshall County (southwest)
    Hardin County (west)
    Franklin County (northwest)


Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!


The information on Trails to the Past Copyright  may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!